Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

G'day ! I need your input :)

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by CoolMango, Apr 23, 2013.

1. Hi All

Firstly - this is my very first attempt at anything like this with wheels and moving bits...

I have almost finished rebuilding a bike an XV 250 Virago (1993). I am not mechanical and it took me several months.

I am looking for some help to tie up the loose ends - I live North of Brisbane area - firstly to give it a "once over" and secondly to help me with putting on the new chain - as I have conflicting info and I don't want to screw it up ( the manual says 114 links, the box says 120 links, and the bike wants about 117 links....)

I also need to have the engine tuned properly - though she sound pretty good to me. Now I don't know anyone to ask, and I am doing it on the cheap. the bike cost me $300.00 and i have spent about the same on everything. This one is for the wife. I hope to post a wanted advert for a non running 250cc for myself..

The upside is I now know how to make any bike look million $$$ no matter how bad she is, and I have some idea about how the engine works. So the next bike will be far easier for me to work with..

Is anyone willing or know someone who can help me get the chain on and the brakes bled - so I can to the step two - have her roadworthed and registered ??

2. Welcome. It may help if you say where you are so people can see if they are local. :)
  3. Cool I'd like to do something like this myself

PICS ?