Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

G'day all

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by Gremlin85, Apr 9, 2007.

1. G'day i thought i should introduce myself im Chris AKA Gremlin , im new to the whole bike scene, ive wanted to ride ever since i first saw a bike as a little kid but naturallly things kept getting in the way! but ive finally decided to take the pluge and get my licence (i plan on ringing the RTA this week and booking for the next L's course) and on getting a loan and buying bike within the next month or 2 and when i was asking around about the best place to come and talk and meet other riders and get good information or help pretty much everyone pointed me here! so naturally i had to join! ;)

2. welcome to the forum.....

:)

3. Welcome, Chris. Another NSW rider, eh? Are you going to get a 250 or go the LAMS route? Enjoy!!

4. Thanks for the warm welcome

and im not quite sure which way im going yet , i thought it best to not narrow down my options too much since i dont know enough yet to confidently say whats best for me , i plan on trying to get a loan around the $6 grand mark , and then spend around $1000 - $1500 on my helmet pants jacket and other essentials and then see whats the best bike i can get with whats left over , i know whatever bike i get ill be stuck with for several years at least or until whenever i pay off my loan so i want something that will last me the distance and still be enjoyable and fast enough generally to keep up with the pack somewhat after im off my p's , but generally the direction im leaning right now is the sportsbike route , id love a chopper but well theres no way i could even think of affording one of those for a long long time!