Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

G'Day all! New to two wheels..

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Jonesy_, Dec 7, 2015.

1. Hi all. I'm Brian but please call me Jonesy..

I'm new to the scene but not new to forums. I've always been into cars and never thought about motorbikes that much as I've always spent my hard earned cash on MTB's and tackiling some gnarly singletracks.

What sparked my interest was a few mates I work with want for a ride out to Hillend NSW and posted to pics on FB. I thought how awesome would that be. I live in Bathurst and the blue mountains are close at hand for a good ride.

So here I am getting keener by the day to get my Ls and find the right bike for me. As with anything I do I research it to death to make sure I'm happy with it and think I've narrowed it down to either a Kawasaki er6n or a Suzuki SFV 650.

Long way to go yet as I won't sit for my learners till next year as I want to be in a financial position to get a bike as soon as I get my license (got a bit on) lol.. Second hand or new I'm not 100% yet.

I'm looking forward to trawling through the forums and get to know some of you. Thanks all and ride safe.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Welcome!!!
  3. Hey Brian, I'll call you Jonesy .. :D

Bikes are really addictive so be warned.

If you're planning to wait, also do some research on bike gear (Helmet, Jackets, Boots etc.) and make sure to budget for it as well. Remember, different helmets suits different heads so make sure that you try on a few brands.

A wealth of information is available here on NR so spend some time and go through that. Also, if there are any questions, don't hesitate to ask.
  4. Welcome!