Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

FZX250 Zeal not starting

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by alex90gt, Feb 24, 2014.

1. First post here, go easy haha.

TL;DR is the bike isn't firing. It has spark and (some) compression but won't run even with start ya bastard. Valve clearances are all in spec and the timing is spot on. I'm by no means an expert with this though so I might have missed something.

The bike is a 1998 yamaha fzx250 zeal with 42,000 k's on it.

I had the bike die on me shortly after an oil change. Clutched in and it stalled, wouldn't crank over, turned out the battery had lost charge. Tried bump starting the bike and got nothing. Same with a jump from a car battery. Pulled the bike apart roadside to check the spark. The plugs were firing but were fouled, gave them a clean and still nothing. Wouldn't get any ignition even with start ya bastard. I had half a tank of fuel and had recently serviced the carbs. The temp light didn't come on and she didn't seem noticeably hotter than normal.

Holding a finger over the spark plug hole for pistons 3 and 4 I noticed there was next to no compression. I also found coolant residue backed up in the carbs. Assumed a blown HG as I hadn't noticed any horrible mechanical-sounding noises, and the motor would still crank freely with a jump.

I might mention I assumed the battery charge issue was due to a rec/regulator issue so I got a replacement. I trailered the bike back home after having no success getting her running again.