Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Fun... but hard work!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by capri727, May 23, 2005.

1. I've gotta hand to you guys and gals who make motorcycling look so easy!! I've only had my L's for about a month, and I now admit that it's much harder than it looks.

I've been a pillion on my hubby's bike many times over the years, have had my car licence for, well, quite a while.. and have even ridden bikes off-road a little, but I never really expected riding on the road for myself would be as physically demanding as it is. Do other new riders find this, or is it just me??

Of course, I've been blaming the vacuum cleaner for the sore back i've had since I started riding. (Surely it couldn't be the bike.. )

I also didn't realize how intimidating the traffic would be. I hate having cars behind me, especially females in cars who seem oblivious to the fact that they might be making someone feel uncomfortable. They seem to be the worst, because most male drivers seem to back off a bit and respect my L plate. Maybe I'm imagining it..?

Anyway, apart from all of that, I'm having great fun learning, and manage to learn something new each time I go out, so it's all good.
  2. Could be your riding positioning, i have ankylosing spondilitis and find that riding my bike is a hell of a lot better for me than sitting all crunched up in a car.

The more practice the better, dont be scared of the cars im sure theyre just as worried about you as you are of them (apparently we are unpredictable pffft!!).

Good luck and remember to have FUN!!!
  3. Dont worry it gets easier, you just have to relax a little and it wont be so hard...