Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Full twin 2 1/2 inch S/S 2002 R1 exhaust project.

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by eb six on boost, Oct 14, 2007.

1. hi, im pretty new to the bike scene but have been hotting up my cars for some years at home, so now the times come to change the dime a dozen yoshi pipe on my 02 r1.

ive chosen to go undertail style for a more streamlined look and twin 2 1/2 inch stainless pipes from the headers back, thus removing the exup.
    yeah i know i will lose heaps of NM but im after a nice deep note and a one of a kind sound and look.

by dolling some 2 1/2 inch tube ive made the collectors already, which will be two into one.

i have already bought all the parts needed, may need a foot more of pipe.
    bought a muffler from new zealand thats made for a car.
    its sizes are; 2 1/2 inch inlet and baffle and 3 inch tips and the bodies are 4 1/2 inch diameter. cost me $100 brand new.
    also got 8 x 45deg bends and 4 foot of stainless for under $200.

before i started i got some all in one, led rear lights from usa to get rid of the mr potatoe head ear indicators.

what ive done so far.......(only started it this week)........

ive cut the muffler inlets off as it was one pipe into the two cannons.
    welded on the mounting brackets which locate on the gear sack rack mounts.
    aslo welded under the mufflers a bracket to mount the number plate and plate light.
    made the collectors and started some pipe work.

i will be making the collector flange at work this week if time permits.

ive attached some photos of the pieces so far.
    the coloured tape on the pipes is just for me to know which goes where.