Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

front wheel wobble

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by jedda, May 23, 2008.

1. hi all got a prob with my bike woundering if any one can help its a gpx250 done 3,000km and i tried the other day to see if i can take my hands off the bar whilst moving at 60kph as a result i only took them off looseley and after a few seconds it started giving me the death wobbles so i put them back on i went home thinking something may have been loose but found everything tight wheels shocks u name it all is tight i get nothing as im riding at all but was just woundering if i should be worried cos i dont wish to have trouble with anything and seeing im new to bikes i dont know if this is normal or not if u think i have a prob could some one please point me in the right direction cos im stumped atm i dont think its tire balance but i could be wrong any input would be apreachated thanks all

2. Ask your mechanic to check the steering head bearings - they could be loose.

It could also be an asymmetric front tyre tread getting worn out - what sort of tyre is it?
  3. re wheel wobble

hey azi thanks for getting back to me so soon the head bolts are tight and tyre is a couple of months old it a dunlop k63OF brand the std one from factory i will check it in morning with some light
    but thanks for getting back to me so soon if this isnt the case i dont know where to look lol
  4. It's probably not the tyre as a K630F looks symmetrical. I have ridden bikes with half worn Bridgestones (BT45 and BT020) that do the wobble, and then the wobble goes away with a new tyre.