Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Front fork issue on Vt250c.....somebody screwed up i think ?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Removed_User_5, Oct 23, 2005.

1. I have had my Vt250c for nearly 3 months, since buying it from a private owner in Geelong Ive been very happy with it. The front fork suspension has always seemed very soft but I thought it was just the way it was meant to be, From the day I picked up the bike i noticed a knocking on the steering head when slowing down quickly or going over speed humps.
    Since Im really new to bikes and nobody with any know how has riden my bike, a few have said its probably supposed to be like that as its a big heavy bike with long forks, and the knocking is probably only the heavy cables rattling against the naked front.
    now Ive had a few issues cornering with my bike and getting it over is easy but sometimes the front wheel judders and steps out which has made me go into corners differently to compensate, I didnt think i was compensating as i thought nothing was wrong but now something is really wrong. And im beggining to wonder if my suspicions where right after all.

A freind of a freind was looking at my bike and I asked him to jump on and take it for a run round the block, he builds bikes so any info he could offer would be great. He told me that the front forks were way too soft and that the knocking was the bearrings on the stem. He also said this would cause a problem whilst cornering at speed at the front would shake.

SO......I called Pete the Pom and pete verified all this info saying basically the same thing.....wrong oil or not enough.