Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Forks replacement, any hints?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by ceebee, Nov 4, 2009.

1. Gday
    Crashed my GS500e after swerving out of path of a stray tip truck on a narrow windy road in January 09. Unfortunately no insurance, and truck driver denies being at fault (the prick!), so it's up to me to fix it all up by myself.
    Impacted into a tree at about 60km/hr, forks broke and twisted back into exhaust, denting exhaust and front wheel warped. Thankfully no other damage (apart from my pride).
    Have sourced replacement forks off ebay, and going to obtain myself a workshop manual. Will read thru manual carefully before commencing the replacement / rebuild. I am a welder/fabricator by trade and experienced in assembling machinery. But never done a forks replacement before. Wondering if anyone out there can offer any useful advice or hints in regard to this type of work??
    Cheers guys!

2. Firstly there is a pro-forma fro a letter of demand on this web site. Use it as it might call the truck drivers bluff.

Secondly a fork replacement is easy, but you should replace the steering head bearing if you have had a wack. This is a little harder and requires some careful grinding and/or heating of the lower bearing seat.

there was a thread few weeks ago about that.
  3. Fork replacement is easy you shouldnt have troubles with it. Just make sure that if you bent your forks the lower triple tree is not damaged or warped as well and as ibast said probably should replace the steering head bearings which is a little more tricky due to the press fit into the steering head.