Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

For the mechanically inept... free lessons.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Jimmyz, Feb 12, 2009.

1. No, I'm not going to provide them, but I thought it would be a good idea to share how I have learned a little bit more about the mechanics involved in a motorcycle (or more specifically the engine) over the past month or two of riding. I thought this would be relevant to many new riders.

I had ZERO prior experience with any mechanical device ever; the car gets serviced by someone else and the bike is only recent.

Soooo, I decided that I should learn something... primarily because I'm a bored uni student on holiday and it's raining so I don't ride :mad:... oh and of course there is the whole practicality part of it.

METHOD: Find as many old broken lawnmowers as you can on the side of the road and fix em all up you'll be surprised by how many you can find if you keep an eye out :grin:. If you get stuck there are so many resources around to help you learn, the internet being one. Before doing this I had no idea what a carby was, no idea what a float chamber did, no idea how the fuel tap worked, no idea how to tell WHY a spark plug has fouled - indicative of other problems, and a lot more. It has also given me a lot more confidence working with what was formerly a maze of meaningless wires, tubes and a theoretically vague idea of how an engine works; so much easier to understand once you SEE them working (or not working properly).