Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Foot positon and the rear brake

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by dazza139, Sep 19, 2007.

1. Can someone give me advice regarding the best foot position to adopt for using the rear brake.

As a newbie I have spent my first few weeks with the heel of my foot on the peg and the ball of my foot "covering" the rear brake lever. Unfortunately I can't do this without depressing the brake slightly which in turns activates the rear brake light. I don't think this light touch is actually engaging the rear brake.

So now I have changed my foot position to one where the ball of my foot rests on the peg most of the time and I move it to the brake leaver when I need to brake.

I wonder how safe this is? What do other people do?
  2. adjust the amount of 'play' on the rear break, so you can rest the ball of your foot on it without actually engaging it - first thing the instructor did at my course was adjust it to suit each rider...
    good luck with it
  3. Ok, you need to change both the pedal AND where you position your foot.

The pedal is adjustable, downwards, and you should drop it till your foot rests naturally on it without having to move your ankle. The 'arch' of your sole should be on the peg, your heel behind it.

And then you must adjust the little plunger that actuates the brake light so that it isn't on all the time, but comes on AS SOON as you touch the pedal with the ball of your foot.