Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Flash MC game development: need some phsyics help

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by jekyll, Apr 21, 2008.

1. Transplanted from:

Hi all,

I'm writing a flash motorcycle game (for shits and giggles, though I intend to find a commercial use for it once it's presentable). The key aim, other than being fun, is to provide as realistic a simulation of motorcycle handling as is possible in a graphically limited, 2d top-down flash game.

To this end, I need some advice on the physics of motorcycle handling. I am a programmer - not a physicist, mathematician, or person particularly knowledgeable about the theory of bike handling.

I need a fairly complete set of formulae which are *as simple as possible* - yet still realistically describe the handling dynamics of a motorcycle.

Can anyone provide any book recommendations / links / specific advice?

thanks in advance amigos,

- J[/url]
  2. Thanks jd, the wikipedia article is exactly what I needed to start out.

I've seen that book online before - I'll take a closer look and maybe order it.

3. FWIW, current control scheme for comment

TAB   q  w  e  r  t
       CAPS   a  s  d  f  g
       SHIFT   z  x  c
    mouse_x       : look left / right 
    mouse_y       : throttle
    s             : push left handlebar
    f             : push right handlebar
    SHIFT + S     : push left handlebar HARD
    SHIFT + F     : push right handlebar HARD
    w             : head check left
    r             : head check right
    e             : shift up
    d             : shift down
    SPACE         : clutch
    middle_click  : clutch
    mouse_wheel   : shift up / down
    a             : lean body weight left
    g             : lean body weight right
    click mouse   : front brake