Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

fix ZX2R gearbox, worth it?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by EVOSTi, May 10, 2006.

1. ive come across a 1990 ZX2R ninja for sale, its said to be in good condition other than 'problem with second gear', price is $2000. this seems FAIRLY reasonable to me provided the bike is otherwise good.

so im asking how hard is this to fix for a motorbike newbie? im a mechanic but have no experience working on bikes, im guesing its not as simple as separating the gearbox from the engine and replacing with a second hand one? is this a job a regualar mechanic can tackle, and even if i can, would it be cost effective?

thanks in advance!
  2. I think you can just replace the second gear cog if that is all that damaged can't you??? My mate has a niggle with 2nd gear on his 00' R6 and he was informed that you can fix it by just having the second gear cog replaced (it is missing some teeth so occasionally skips with hard acceleration).

Other you could just replace the gear box with a second hand one! Don't they just bolt on and off to the bottom of the engine???
  3. If you can get a hold of a service manual for the bike then it should be within your capabilities to fix. If it is jumping out of gear there are a couple of possible causes. Worn/bent selector forks or the dogs on the gear are worn. If its not too badly worn you may be able to get a machine shop to undercut the drive face of the dog. May wear through the case or induction hardening though (problem will then recurr). Best just to replace gear if you are going to be keeping it. Whatever it is its an engine out & split the cases job. Gearbox is integral with the engine in most bikes. Except for those weird Harley & BMW ones :LOL: :LOL: