Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

first wet weather ride

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by greenrider, Mar 20, 2007.

1. Did anyone of you more seasoned and experienced riders out there have any apprehension about getting out there in the wet. I'm pretty new at this only been on the road for three months and hadnt rode in the wet until the last few days ... (thanks Melbourne!!). I was told that it would be best to avoid conditions such as rain and excessive wind but I didnt agree and gave it a go. I didnt think I was doing myself any favors by being soly a fair weather rider as I guess you do at some time come across some and definately need the experience in all conditions. Because Im riding to work daily I cant see the piont in getting out there when the sun shines only. So far I didnt find any problems with it (riding in the wet) as I slowed down, breaked gradualy when required and kept larger distances between me and the cagers, avioding those white lines and keeping well away from those oil slicks that rise to the top at lights. I have to go down the western ring road and found that the spray from passing traffic is abit annoying. What are some of the other things that I need to consider when riding in the wet besides the things I am doing. Id like to keep riding in the rain and would hate to be put off by doing somthing stupid that I didnt know about.

2. Being a new rider myself, I'm not sure I really have much to offer in the way of tips or experience at the moment. But I do know how you feel when it comes to caution in the wet.