Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First time down...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by SydneyDave, Jan 25, 2010.

1. Hi all,
    I know there's an almost continual stream of these sort of threads, but I thought that I'd add my experience - hopefully not only will I learn from it, but maybe other noobs.

My story - been riding for about 12 months now, only a few months left on P plates. Thought I was a decent rider, typically P plate cocky, I guess. I've been riding to work every day for the last 3-4 months, so I was also a bit complacent about the same route day in day out.

I was heading north along Elizabeth St in Sydney, in the bus lane. Taxi in front of me indicates right, moves halfway out of the lane, then slams on his brakes and dives back in towards the kerb. I grab the front brakes, way too hard, lock up and go down on my right side. D**khead taxi driver just floors it away (typical). Fortunately, a nice couple on the sidewalk helped me get my bike up to the pavement and off the road. Don't know if they're riders, but it's nice to know people care.

Damage? I've always been an ATGATT guy, although I hate to think how much skin I would have lost, even at the roughly 30kph I hit the deck. I've got a slightly skinned knee (don't know how that happened through the Draggins...), and the bike has a few new scratches - it didn't even bend either brake lever. The only real damage is a broken indicator lens (although the globe still works). Checked it out on the pavement, everything seemed OK, so I rode home (all good).

- Be doubly careful around taxi drivers - leave extra room, especially in the kerb-side lane, as they *will* stop or swerve if they think they see a fare...