Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First speeding fine

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Removed_User_5, Dec 17, 2006.

1. I got my first speeding Fine..... $134 for doing 106 in a 100 zone on the freeway to geelong.

I have been riding for 18 months and never had a fine before. To get caught 6kph over is bloody ridicimilous.

If you have bike with a difital readout its hard to stay bang on 100, you would have to be looking at it every 3sec to make sure. I cant see how thats safe if your not watching the road.

I bet its pointless appealing too.

Bummer my weekend in Adelaide just got more expensive.
  2. $134 for 6 clicks over??? what a crime against humanity! thats way too much! what a bummer dude, the whole speeding ticket deal is just plain retardation in action, btw when you send the check, be sure to smear it a little with some feaces, it gets the message across. :grin:
  3. Write them a letter.

Admit fault, point out it was your first ever speeding fine, and you promise to never do it again.

I know 3 people that have got off doing this (only works if it's your first fine and you get done doing under 10k over).
  4. Hey, shut up!
    The government needs the money you know? It is coming up to christmas after all. :roll:

I take it a cop pulled you over, or else you wouldn't know this soon? It's a heap of bullshit. I'd appeal anyway, what have you got to lose?
  5. I thought that the ADR's allowed for up to 6% error in speedometer readings, but condsidered the vehicle to still be roadworthy?
  6. Most states will give you 9 kms over before pinching you, except Victoria where it's 3 kms over and your gone. Govt claims that the modern speedo is more accurate these days.