Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

first road bike for a young guy.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by JimmyD, Aug 27, 2009.

1. g'day everyone.

im on my red P plates at the moment (VIC) and get off the LAM's restriction in may next year, so im searching around for a road bike.

i've been riding for about 14 years already (though not all of that was on the road as you would imagine) so i have a bit of experience and bike control. the bike itself wont be a bike for commuting (you get run over by car drivers too much) and i plan to take it to the island etc for track days.

any suggestions on something that should be fairly reliable and fun to ride. budget will be around the $9k ish by that stage..

thanks for any pointers.
  2. There are lots of bikes that will fit the bill, but at your age insurance is going to be perhaps *the* biggest issue: anything with 'RR' in its name, or that is very sporty and fully faired, and you're likely to be paying around 3 grand a year in insurance or more...

For that reason, I reckon things like the SV650S and the ER-6F would be well worth a look. They're fun, cool bikes that handle and go well enough that a track day would be very enjoyable, but you'll probably spend half as much on insurance, meaning you can spend a lot more on the bike and on gear.

No doubt there are other good suggestions out there too, but that's my idea for where to start.
  3. Given your requirements, maybe the Honda Search or the Suzuki Browse the Forum might be good. Failing that you could go for the much maligned but arguably superior Yamaha Been Done to Death. :p

Apart from that, this is NR, so VTR250!! :)

But for track days and little commuting, go a two-smoke! :woot: