Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First Ride {Moved from General}

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Strangeways, Dec 18, 2012.

1. Hi All! I'm a novice rider, had my Ps and new bike a week,planning my first recreation ride in a week.
    Old Pacific Highway, from Horsnsby to Calga, ppears to be a comfortable start.
    Any comments or suggestions?

2. watch for coppers
  3. The old road is normally crawling with police but you can still have fun on it if you're observant. Peats Ridge or the Wiseman's Ferry loop are all close by too.
    Double demerits time is soon so be doubly vigilant.
  4. Guys, he's a newly anointed P-Plater... any speeding offence is automatically 4 demerit points; ergo - loss of license whether double-demerits or not.

Strangeways, I agree that there are normally plenty of cops on the Ol' Pac (seems to be more on a Sunday than a Saturday though) but if you behave sensibly, you'll have fun. As my Scotland Island neighbour mentioned, double-demerits come into force very soon but this might be to your advantage... less bikers will be using the road and those who do will (for the most part) be more conservative during this period. Watch out of a grey Nissan X-Trail (assuming the recent Cycle Torque article entitled "Entrapment" hasn't change things)... there's been reports-a-plenty over the last few months of this vehicle pulling out in front of motor cycles and tooling along under the speed limit. Riders have become frustrated and overtaken the X-Trail on unbroken lines only to be pulled over by a Hwy Patrol up the road and informed that they were filmed performing an illegal overtake by the Nissan.