Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First near miss x 2

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by Electro, Nov 12, 2009.

1. I've been riding for a couple of months now and have not even had anything close to a near miss... until this morning.

I was in the far left lane on the calder freeway riding to work just before the keilor rd exit I saw this silver hatchback move into the middle lane from the far right lane just a car length or two infront of me. I slowed down expecting her to move into my lane - she didn't... I saw her brakes go on and I waited a few seconds to see if she was goin to move into my lane but she didn't move in. Not until i went to pass her. I got halfway down the side of her before I realised she was gonna hit me so I hit the brakes pretty hard, had to swerve into the emergency lane and narrowly avoided an accident.

I started fuming at this point. I passed her on the right side and gave her a stare and a few words and she just had her hands covering her face in shame. She didn't even want to look at me. I was going to smash her window in in anger.

I calmed myself down a little only to have the same thing happen again 3-4 minutes later however this time I'm in the far right lane and some idiot in a black ford territory nearly runs into the side of me while he was changing into my lane without even looking. Again I got a chance to practice my e-braking and sweving skills (hey i'm getting good at this now). I pass him and find out he is txting on his phone totally oblivious to what had just happened. This was an older man (like in his late 40's early 50's) that you'd think would have a little more sense than to drive like that. I guess not.