Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First month of riding - 4 near misses, a warning for other Learners

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by NoFearNick, Feb 7, 2011.

1. I think this would be a very good read for other new riders or learners as you can learn from my experiences. I have been driving for three years now and on my P2 license and I've never been in any accident. So I've had a fair bit of road experience prior to riding and know what to look out for.

So it's been a month since I had my little Ninja 250R registered and got my license. In that time I have racked up about 1400km on my bike and have had 4 near misses where if I hadn't reacted I would no longer be riding. I've also done a few skids and locked up the back wheel accidentally but that would have never been a serious accident. It's not like I'm a crazy rider who weaves between cars, I'm always cautious and in control. Though I will admit to letting the throttle go a few times at the lights, just for fun :)

Last week was a very bad week for motorcyclists in Sydney, there were 3 deaths on our roads. One of which my close friend witnessed, which made me realise how dangerous our sport really is. There is some statistic like 90% of all motorcycle related accidents a car is at fault and I can understand that from my riding.

The first near miss was in under a week of riding and travelling along a freeway at 80km/h at midnight, I was in the far left (bus) lane and I had a taxi sharply cut across 3 lanes of traffic to slow down and turn right in front of me. I saw him do this whole procedure and I had to slam on the brakes (which after a week of riding is a scary thing to do) to avoid rear ending him.