Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First Long Ride - Mount Glorious & Mount Nebo

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Captain115, Mar 24, 2012.

1. Hi all,
    Just came back from my first lengthy day ride and had a great time, so I thought I might do a quick write up for anyone interested.

The Reason
    I’d spent a good part of last week doing uni assignments and working, so it felt like I needed to take a break and go do something enjoyable. Also the past fortnight had on-again/off-again rain, which had kept me from riding or skating (my other hobby) and made get feel a little stir crazy. Finally, I am fairly new to riding motorcycles so I really wanted to get my cornering skills up to speed (pun intended).

The Bike
    My trusty little 2006 CBF250, with a full tank of fuel and a need to ride at speeds above 50kmph (it had spent the past few weeks being used exclusively as a commuter).
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

The Route
    I wanted to go somewhere that had coffee and windy roads and was fairly close to my home suburb of Taringa. A quick search on google maps came up with the D’Aguilar mountain range which included Mount Nebo and the pleasantly-named Mount Glorious. Even more promising was the collection of various cafes that were scattered along the route, giving me the chance to sample various coffees as I went. I had gone out the night before to watch the footy, so I didn’t get off to as early a start as I had wanted but at roughly midday I set off.

There was some moderate traffic up Boundary road through Bardon, where I practiced my slow speed skills, but the traffic died away as I got out past The Gap.