Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First Gear Shopping Tomorrow

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by WheelsLegman, Jul 26, 2012.

1. Okay so Ive been reading through old threads first but Id like to get a few concise opinions/answers re. gear. Im going to AMX Bayswater because it sounds like they are the cheapest and have a good range, or should I be going to Bikemart in Ringwood? Im a uni student my budget is 1k but pref under. I did go to PS in the city and the guy said if im getting a package I can work with about %15 off the retail. Would AMX still be cheaper?

Going to be riding bike in area where traffic limit is like 60k max for most of the time, 10ks distance from my house max.

Leather or textile pants and jacket? Apparently leather is the most abrasion resistant but not waterproof. If it gets wet is that bad for it? I mean isn't it better to have more abrasion resistance than water proof-ness? Most of the time its not raining. How comfy are these pants? Im going to be riding daily and I cant afford to by a different pair of leather paints for every day of the week. Do most of you have something you wear then just get changed out of it at uni or work?

Helmet- I would like the style that is the motocross looking one with a visor on it (ive bought a KLX 25SF so looks better). Research shows that the Shoei Hornet DS has an good safety rating but it cost around $500. Is there a good brand you know of? Brands I should steer clear of? I think im prepared to pay $300 for a helmet.(http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/roadsafety/downloads/safer_motorcycle_helmets.pdf)

2. for gear I reckon check whos selling what on this site first, you will get something maybe cheaper but better then in shop, helmet always buy new.