Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First bike ..... XVS650.. Brand New .. good or bad decision

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by ralph, Aug 28, 2008.

1. I am new to bike riding. First and only time i have rode a bike was at the pre Learners course.

I really want a cruiser style bike. I'm not that interested in sports bikes, more interested in the crusing aspect.

Question one:
    Is the yamaha XVS650 a stupid bike for a learner to get ? I dont care if hire a bike to get my P's. More worried if its going to be really hard to learn on. Too heavy to control?

Question two:
    Is a new bike a stupid decision for a learner ? or should i get a crappy bike for $3k first then loook to up grade in a 6 months or so??

Do learners often drop/come off their bike?

Thanks heaps for any advice people can give me!

2. If that is the style of bike that you want then it sounds perfect, go for it.
  3. Re: First bike ..... XVS650.. Brand New .. good or bad decis

Welcome Ralph

They do come off, probably more so when commuting in all kinds of weather and traffic conditions. And so to on weekend runs when trying to push that little bit harder trying to keep up with the more experienced.

Would look for second hand, who knows, you might grow tired of the Crusier look, or once off you P's want to get a bigger one in 12 mnths time. A good used bike will hold it's value much better and any small dropsie wont be the end of the world like on a new one

And from what others have said, Cruiser's aint ideal for the test due to bigger rake and larger U turn. But are OK to learn on as they have upright seating postion and low centre of gravity

Have fun shopping