Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First Bike vs. First Car

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Matt J, Jun 13, 2007.

1. Hey all, I'm Matt.

I'm a first year uni student and I'm making a decision. I'm still learning to drive a car but it doesn't exactly thrill me - it just seems to be practical monotony, getting from point a to point b. I've wanted a bike for a few years now but I always seem to worry myself out of it - what if I crash, what if I end up hating it etc. But I can't seem to get the idea of getting a motorcycle out of my head.

Any tips anybody?

Thanks for reading,

2. Mate here's a tip, GO FOR IT.
    I never even bothered getting a car untill I got married and we had kids and then it was just to transport the family, I still only use the car for transporting the kids and for work if I need to carry anything big all the rest of the time I take the bike.
  3. go out and book yourself in a Pre-L's course. There's nothing mandating you then have to go get your license, but it'll give you two half days of learning how to ride, how it feels on a bike, etc... its a good and cheap way of trying it out!
  4. Get a better car.
  5. Thanks very much guys. Appreciate all the advice (even the better car one, cheeky bugger).

I was watching a motorcycle doco on tele the other day about a trip round the world, and one of the guys said he hoped their trip had inspired people to just do stuff instead of getting bogged down in the what ifs. Sounds like a good plan to me.
  6. My advice would be to go do the Pre-L course and get your license. Won't hurt to try, if you don't like it, move on.
  7. Get a car if your incompetent. Theres so many distractions when riding eg. chicks, animal crossing, chicks, vroom vroom, glug glug etc.