Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First bike: Suzuki GS500F?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Rurnip, Jul 24, 2012.

1. Hi there,

First post! I'm totally new to riding and am doing my L course this weekend.

Thinking about what LAMS bike to get to start my riding career :)

Initial instinct was for a cruiser but having researched online, I thought perhaps a 250 would get boring too quickly, whereas recent model Honda VT400 and Yamaha XVS650 are slightly above my price range of around $6k. I'm not overkeen on Hyosung or one of the lesser known brands.

Thinking therefore to startvwith a tourer/naked bike, something with enough power to keep me interested for at least the first year, but not too much to scare me. I would then look at trading up to a non-LAMS cruiser when I'm unrestricted.

Research to-date is pushing me in the direction of the Suzuki GS500F. Price seems to be reasonable - not overexpensive but reasonable for re-sale; reviews rate it highly for beginners and it'd meet my criteria of keeping me interested without breaking the budget. It also has heaps of pedigree and has been around for a while - so would seem to be proven.

For $6k there are a number of 3 to 4 year old examples available from dealers.

I'd be really grateful if anyone could offer any experience or feedback about this bike, or suggest any similar alternatives.

Thanks in advance :)
  2. I would highly recommend it very impressive bullet proof bike.

Or get a LAMS SV650 & De-restrict once you get enough experience under your belt.
  3. Thanks Popeye. Are they easy to maintain also?