Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First bike - new vs used

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Makovitza, Jun 7, 2007.

1. Hi everyone,

Apologies if this question has been asked 100 times before...

I've just gotten my learner's permit and now it's time to get a bike. I'm a complete newbie - never been on a bike before doing the permit course - and not at all mechanically-minded. I originally thought about getting an old bike, possibly only getting 3rd party insurance, and trying to keep costs as low as possible until I'm a bit more experienced (and on an unrestricted licence). But the prospect of trying to sort the junk from the decent second-hand bikes is very daunting. Add to this the spiel I got from my instructor about how buying a new bike is so much better because you know it's in safe working order, and it's covered by a warranty. So now I'm confused. What do you guys think? New or second-hand?

At the riding school I had a bit of a go on a brand new Yamaha Scorpio Z, which seemed pretty comfy and zippy and nice to ride (retails about $4500 I think). Has anyone tried one of these? What do you think? I also tried a new Arqin RT200, because I'm giving some thought to getting something that can go off-road (my little brother is getting into dirt-bike riding, but who knows how long that will last). The Arqin wasn't as comfy as the Scorpio, but is cheap as hell (about $3K new) and has a good warranty. Any comments?