Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First Bike - New vs Used

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by SharkfanSA, May 1, 2012.

1. Hi All,

I’m new to bikes and I am looking for my first one. The biggest question I have is should I buy a new bike or a used one. I have the means to get a new bike and I have found one I love. I can see the benefits of that but EVERYONE is telling me to get a crap used bike because I am guaranteed to drop it. Yeah that may happen but should that be enough of a reason to look past a new model. Most bikes I have looked at have a 2 year warranty and it’s easier to replace damaged parts on a current model I’m sure. My expectation is that I will keep this bike for 2 – 3 years until I can afford a really nice big full license bike. If I get a used bike just to learn on I then have to sell it and get another bike in between.... what to do? Please help.

2. Geez it's silly how so many people say you will drop you bike garunteed. Most people who say buy a cheap shitter, couldn't afford a half decent bike when they started out so will tell everyone else they should do the same.
    IMHO, I'd buy something that is a year or so old, so it's done the worst of it's depreciation but is still relatively new. bare in mind kawasaki have a 2 year warranty period, so even a 12 month old bike carries over the balance of warranty.
    These days 5-6K is not a lot of money, but will get you a pretty decent small capacity LAMS bike.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. I would say to you that it is only once you start riding that you learn what you really want in a bike.

It's not that you won't buy the perfect bike first time, but there is a better chance of finding your dream bike when you've learned a bit more through experience.