Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First Bike Honda VTR250 2010

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Husslez, Apr 12, 2016.

1. Hey guys so i registered here yesterday and was asking help as to buying a new bike, as i have no experience whatsoever.

I put a poll up for the 250rr or cb400, i had all the votes on the cb400. I had a bloke post why not look at the vtr250 so i did just that in within a couple hours of viewing and reading stories bout the bike i decided to go ahead and look these bikes.

I went on Gumtree and found one not too far from where i live asking 5200, as i could not find any other bikes that was a EFI model to compare with bar 1. So i thought to myself why not go and check this bike out. So i contacted the seller and arranged to see the bike, i took a fellow mate off mine who owns a Gsxr1000. So we looked at the bike it was an import i was not not fussed about that no logbooks or whatever they call them, but ol m8 had a test ride did checks and said to me the bike is in good condition.

The bike has done 5903 ks or thereabouts and has rego till November, i finally negotiated a price which i will share $4550 he wanted a lil more but we came to an agreement. So i think im happy with the purchase.

I wanted to ask for some pointers about the bike anyone know when next service is due my mate told me at 6k a minor??

Also only when rear brake light is engaged does the light come on, im a noob so is this correct as when you engage the front brake alone it does not light up??

Bike is bone stock i will be looking at getting a exhaust modification any suggestions also?

And yeah guys i will post a picture when i can. Any feedback or anything you guys want to say please let me know as i am new to this thing.