Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First bike; first drop

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Mike9999, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Hey guys

I'm a newbie when it comes to bikes; Got my learners in Jan this year and bought my first bike last week - a 2009 kawasaki ninja 250r. Not what I had in mind when i started but the honda cb250s on the market were a bit older and i wanted something relatively recent, although still second hand. Plus it was at a good price ($5000) without too many km's (6000) and still under warranty.

So I took it for a ride today to the local shopping centre carpark. It was deserted so I decided to practice some emergency braking. All was going well until i broke at around 50km/h. Late into the brake the front wheel locked, I lost balance and the bike dropped to my right. Scratched up the fairing a bit, as well as the exhaust. Right indicator punched a whole straight through the fairing, was pretty difficult to get it back out.

Im a little annoyed, mainly about the indicator and the damage it caused, but the bike already had a few scratches - really glad i bought a second hand bike.

My main concern is, how do i avoid this happening again?? The road surface was dry, level, and clean. The wheels were dry. What do I do if the wheel locks up like this again?
  2. So you were braking fine then it locked & you fell over, normally locking the front occurs very early in the braking process, typically from grabbing the brakes too hard..

Did you check the surface where it locked, any loose gravel or oil there??

Depending on where you are situated, I would suggest getting along to one of the Saturday morning learner practice sessions where you can discuss emergency braking with some very experienced & helpful people.