Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First Bike-Aprilia RS125, Cagiva Mito 125 or Hyosung GT250R?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by ///M cubed, Apr 12, 2006.

?
  1. Aprilia RS125

100.0%
  2. Cagiva Mito 125

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Hyosung GT250R

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Hi all,

I'm brand new to the forum, thanks for having me.

I'm currently looking for my first bike, and I've found a few that I like. Ultimately I would really like to have a Ducati 748iSS :cool: , but that's definately down the track.

I want to put 2k cash on the bike and loan out the rest over a 2 year period, considering I'm a uni student and lump sums of cash are a bit hard to come by.

I like the Aprilia RS125, the Cagiva Mito 125 and the Hyosung GT250R.

I'm thinking the Hyosung for practicality at the moment, as it's 4 stroke and considerably cheaper than the 125's.

The reason I'm considering the 125's is a lot of people I talk to say that the best riders are generally ones that can ride the wheels off their 125's. Taking Valentino for example.
    I'd like to grow to be a good rider, and MAYBE put in some track time later on. Really though, I just need a bike that's going to last me well for 3 years to get me out of uni, and have reasonable resale value after that period. I'm looking for reliability and ease of maintenance aswell.
    I would like a bike that I'm not going to get sick of, but because I'm not experience with riding on the road I can't just tell by looking.

I've had a few years experience riding trail bikes, with some racing experience when I was younger.

I'd really appreciate some opinions of people other than the ones trying to sell me the bikes. I'd go ask Barry (Sheen) if he was still around, bless him.