Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First Big Trip, Canberra to Melbourne and back.

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by HotelWhisky, May 1, 2015.

1. Hey Guys,

I am fairly new to the scene, but have been hitting the road pretty hard over the last few weeks. I have been getting out on the roads every chance I get and have done more than 1500 km in the last two weeks. I have been enjoying doing nice long rides (including 400km in one day) to nowhere in particular just around Canberra.

I have to be in Melbourne at the end of this month for a family event and I have plenty of time off of work around it. I was thinking of riding the coast roads down and back and staying a night in Lakes Entrance or similar on my way there and back. I was hoping for some advice as to good roads down that way that I could explore (maybe even by staying two nights somewhere and having a day of cruising around?).

I am also concerned about the fact that I haven't done a big ride like this before and may well be hugely underestimating what a challenge it might be, especially considering that I ride a CBR500R which is not exactly designed for touring. I would be planning on taking just my tankbag and a backpack as I will only be in Melbourne for like 2 nights.

Would love some advice re: touring in general, roads through that area, things I might need to look out for etc.

• Like Like x 3
  2. I'm coming from a similar position and just did a 1600k round trip on a CB400, what I can say is make plenty of stops, even if it's just 5 minutes, made a huge difference for me.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. There's been a few 'places to ride in Vic' or where to ride between Melb and Sydney threads. Try using the search function.