Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

First 3 weeks on my L's.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Andy-G, Mar 14, 2007.

1. Hi, I am new to net rider, but I thought I would post up a summery of my first few weeks riding. I bought a Yamaha XS250 for $600 and sat my learners test in the following week, and everything went smoothly because I have had some riding experience in the past. So the next day I took my certificate into ServiceTas to sit the exam (which was also easy as i have been driving for a couple of years) and then I decided to ride my bike to work that day. This was fine and I scored a great park right under my work.

So the first few days of riding were similar to the first and apart from stalling once at the lights I didnt have any issues.......until my day off came, I had been looking forward to a day of riding since I bought the bike so in the morning I couldnt wait to get out there, but when I got to the eastern shore (of Hobart) it was rianing quite heavily and my helmet was fogging up, I headed to my girlfriend's house and then tragety happened... :( I was slowing up in her street and the all of a sudden my back wheel locked up (I was using the rear brake as it was really slippery) and I couldnt accelerate out of trouble as i was heading for a row of parked cars. So I went over, hard.