Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Fined for parking on the nature strip

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Rnb930, Feb 8, 2015.

1. This week I got an infringement notice for parking adjacent to the footpath on St Kilda Rd - in exactly the same place I have been parking for the past four years. The actual offence is "Stopped -On a nature strip Road Rule (1)".
    I didn't even see the ticket until the next day and couldn't believe it!
    I am well aware of the limitations on footpath parking, and very careful to not leave the bike where it will cause an obstruction. My only guess is that someone has complained - perhaps one of the nearby cafes that have recently been refurbished has decided the want bike gone for the area.
    Just wonder if any fellow riders have been booked in Melbourne for this "offence"?? Thoughts and comments very welcome! RB

2. I wouldn't try and find rationality behind it. It's a ticket they can give, so they gave it.

There's a reason why the are the second most hated profession after prime minister in this country.
    • Funny Funny x 2
  3. More than solicitors and real estate agents? No way.
  4. (1) Wrong road rule
    (2) the thread belongs in Laws/Politics https://netrider.net.au/forum/politics-laws-government-insurance.61/, and
    (3) If you were stopped on the nature strip and did not hinder or cause obstruction to pedestrians, no offence was committed.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Doing a bit of moderating there mate or just lending a hand ? :D
    • Funny Funny x 3