Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

QLD Fined for Overtaking stationary traffic

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by mendosi, Oct 10, 2012.

1. Hi everyone.

I'm looking for some advice/help here. I've searched through the archives and I can't seem to find any situation similar to this nor can I find anything from the Qld district court records, but I'm not very experienced at searching those, yet.

So I was approaching an intersection where there was a queue of traffic. The road at this point is only one lane each direction and the lanes are separated by a broken white line.

I wanted to turn right, so when there was a break in the traffic I indicated and proceeded past all the stationary cars down to the right turn lane where I waited for the light to change. Not long after a police officer pulled up beside me and told me (and the driver in front who had done the same thing) to pull over once we were around the corner.

https://maps.google.com.au/maps?q=-27.481598,152.993977&num=1&t=k&z=20 is the location, FYI.

Basically, the officer gave me a fine for driving on the wrong side of the road. s132 of the Qld road rules. I told him that I was overtaking, and it was okay to do so because I indicated, checked that it was clear and there was a broken white line.

After much discussion, his final position was that I can't have been overtaking, because the vehicles were stationary, and the definition of 'overtake' in the Qld road rules is:

and according to his interpretation, since the vehicles were stationary, they were not 'travelling' and therefore I wasn't overtaking. Since I wasn't overtaking, I had no good reason to be on the right-hand side of the dividing line. $198.