Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Financing My Bike... The Hard Way

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Legendarylvl1, Nov 8, 2012.

1. Hi guys, not sure if this belongs here but I checked out all the other sub topics and couldn't see anything that was dedicated to beginner financial problems. So here goes.

I'm currently a uni student working part time. I've saved enough money to purchase a brand new bike without financing but lo and behold my sister decided to have her wedding this December, and as a wedding present, I've chosen to give her my life savings.

The problem arises from the fact that I must get a bike by Early next year, and seeing as I now have no cash, the only real option to me seems to be financing.

Of course being a full time student and all I have no credit history, does anyone know what my options are at this point?

Or was my love of bikes never meant to be:(
  2. Good on you for taking care of your sister....being a student and accepting this perhaps you should simply save a smaller amount again and buy a older second hand bike that you won't be afraid of making mistakes on and you won't lose much if any money when it comes time to sell the bike onto the next owner?
  3. It's always a challenge to get finance and one to avoid if possible.
    My suggestion would be to try dealer finance as your 1st option. The finance will be a secured loan meaning if you default on the loan they will take your bike.
    Don't try and apply for many loans try once and if you get knocked back wait 6 months or so before trying again. Multiply applications may strike a negative result against you.