Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Finally going to get it done

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by wingsout, Oct 14, 2008.

1. Hey guys!

Finally after a few months of putting it off, wondering if its worth it etc.. im going to take the plunge and get my license and buy a bike and the gear..

first step - the license .... whats the best place in Melbourne to do a course etc for a total noob.. never riden a motorcycle ever..

second step - the bike and the gear

bike - want a sport bike - im thinking a new ninja (i know should learn on POS but it seems easier as i have no idea about motorbikes)

gear - i'm willing to pay close to top dollar for the best safety (and best looking :D ) gear

helmet - arai rx-7 or similar
    jacket - a* mx1 or similar
    jeans - draggin
    boots - any suggestions?? for a noob (wouldnt mind something i could walk around in if need be)
    gloves - any suggestions?? for a noob

also a quick question ... does the back protectors CE armour go inside the jacket or under the jacket???

i thank you all in advanced, im sure u will help me out and get me going in the motorcycle world :grin: :grin:
  2. Money to burn huh? Wouldnt that be nice!

Seriously though - "Top dollar" approach may not be the best approach here.... If you like the new Ninjas look but are a complete N00b then how about an older ZZR? You could spend half the amount on the bike and still have a good looking reliable ride safe in the knowledge that if you want to sell it later the depreciation will be next to nothing... and of course if you do drop it it wont be so devastating.