Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Finally beating SR's!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Maetrik, Aug 25, 2011.

1. So i started riding on the road for those that don't know almost a year ago, maybe a week shy. I've got 10 years dirt bike experience behind that but jumped on a roady and never looked back.

Like all learners, i had the jitters about certain things. Long story short, i had a serious crash because of SR's (Survival Reactions). I looked at the embankment i didn't want to hit, and as you can predict, bang at 100km/h i hit it. Luckily i walked away but i was pissed off. I'd read about them and tried to practice ignoring them but your bodies instincts are hard to overcome.

Anyway, i hit the Spurs the other day in great conditions, and was feeling really switched on the second i pulled out the driveway. Get up to Marysville where the real fun starts on the run up to Lake Mountain and down the Reefton. As many would know, there are some hairy corners up there, and i was going pretty hard. I hit a 45km/h corner at about 80km/h (about the limit for my bike given the camber and i didn't have a deathwish), and realised at corner entry i'd overcooked it as the road thinned. I looked dead ahead, but within 0.2 of a second my head snapped back to the vanishing point, counter-steered hard and executed the corner perfectly. The buzz i got out of it was astonishing. I'd avoided a possible wipe out by executing critical lessons that i'd had drilled into me by mentors but simply cant be taught, only learned.