Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Filtering like a gentleman (or lady)

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by jekyll, Apr 7, 2008.

1. Mod: I did a few searches; I hope this is ok as a new thread.

I've gone through a progression from not filtering at all, to doing it a little, then all the time, and have now come full circle in a sense: I filter sometimes, but I assess each situation before making the decision.

Some of the things which give me pause include:

* If the car at the front of the queue seems like they may "contest" my right to be at the front, I'd rather not be there. I can wind the Spada up fairly fast, but not fast enough to safely drag a loony in any decent car, and if I hold anyone up I'm an inconsiderate driver.

* If I don't know the lights well enough to know what order they change in, I'm more likely to hold back.

* If I don't quite make it to the front and have to slot in between moving cars, I often feel like there's not enough space around me and I can't create it without further annoying people I've already pushed in front of.

* If I'm intelligent about where I choose to filter, I don't need to do it at every set of lights to achieve good results. Choosing my moments strategically I can have both good safety and progress.

* If the gap looks tight or awkward, and I fail to negotiate it smoothly, I'll look and feel like a complete idiot.

* Sometimes I can tell by looking down the road, or thinking about my route, there's another place a little further on I can make the same gains with less drama.

* The more considerate and competent I can appear to other motorists, the safer I feel - they are more likely to be considerate and safe around me.