Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Feet position on pegs

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by orp, Jan 28, 2005.

1. Hey guys, I've been riding for just over 3 months now, just off my learner's last week.

I ride a ZZ-R 250, and have been riding with the side of my feet resting on the side of the gears on the left and break on the right. I've been doing this so I know exactly where they are located if I need to jump of the break quickly or change gear (without fumbling).

But what about corners, should I be changing the position of my feet? Will my feet be hitting the ground before the pegs do?

2. That's usually where I have my feet when I'm just cruising. When you go for a hard fang you'll want to put the balls/toes of your feet on the pegs to keep them out of the way of the bitument when you're cranked over through corners :p
  3. do you mean that your toe pokes out? If so isn't that uncomfortable?

Even so, if you feel ok riding like that, just tuck the foot up under (or onto) the lever as you corner.

4. Yeah thanks guys, I'll start moving my feet back so my toes are on the pegs around corners.

Iffracem: I've been moving my feet around and its the only place that seems conforable, where do you normally have yours when crusing?
  5. hmm, cant remember the last time i ever used the foot brake lever, so the ball of my right foot is always placed on the footpeg and the left is the same apart from moving it forward to flick the gear lever.

hardly ever do i move my feet forward so the heel of my boot hooks onto the footpegs, but , thats just me, i like to push down on the pegs when cornering.

would have my pegs rearset if i had a spare 500 odd bucks that was needed on other stuff :?