Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Faulty Battery/Solenoid?

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by Robbins, Apr 24, 2016.

1. Hey guys, got a slight issue!
    So Im quite new to the bike scene, and I bought my first motorbike a few days ago. Had a flat battery, so I replaced the exact same battery in it, and to begin with everything went great. After starting it a few times the bike refused to turn over for a while (Assuming it was out of fuel). After returning home and trying to start it again with new fuel in it, it simply refuses to start. When I press the starter button, I hear a single click from the soleinoid, and thats it. Tried bypassing it with a screwdriver only to have the starter motor faintly rev but no dice. Checked the battery without the bike on with a Voltometer and it read 11.5 volts, and its a new 12V battery. Reads 11.3 with the ignition on. Maybe I drained the battery too much by starting it too much? Is it the battery? My battery light comes on while Im trying to start the bike, and the lights dim a little bit. Is the battery faulty? Or is it just drained and I have to wait for it to recharge? Does it recharge itself? I really dont know. Or do I just need a bigger battery?
    Thank you! Any advice is appreiciated :)

2. sounds like battery may not be being charged.
    or could be drained from trying to start too much and not getting charged in between.

if you have/can borrow a charger (small one, half to 1 amp max), charge the battery overnight.
    fully charged it should be something like 12.5-12.7V (not 12)
    less than 12 means it is drained

you can also jump start from a car battery to get bike going.
    when bike is running, and with revs up, battery should be getting 14+ V if it is charging