Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Faster 250 - change ratios?

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by MeltingDOg, May 1, 2011.

1. Hi all,

I am a newb to motorcycling in general - so please keep that in mind!. I've got a 94 GN250 which is in great shape and runs fantastically.

Only thing is I would like to take it on longer highway trips. I've already posted a thread asking if people think the bike is up to cruising at highway speed for hours and the general consensus is it shouldn't be a problem (as long as the oil levels are ok).

Now, Ive heard rumors that you can replace the drive and wheel gears (if that is the correct terminology) with different ratios to make things a bit faster.

Im not interested in magically making this thing into a super bike - it is a 250 after all. What I want to explore is the option of changing the ratios to improve its ability to cruise at 100kph. Right now it cruises there at 6.5k rpm (redlines at 8.5) and it just doesn't feel that natural. 80kph at 5k rpm feels way more comfortable. So my goal would be to cruise at 100kph at 5k rpm.

Does anyone have any information or advice for me?
  2. I just did the same conversion on my bike as I felt the bike was revving too high at speeds of 100km/h and above.
    Find out how many tooth are on your front sprocket, then order a new one with an additional tooth. For example if the front has 15 teeth then get one with 16 teeth. After you get that put on report back with the results.
    Bear in mind your bike will take off marginally slower. But theoretically your top speed will increase.