Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Fan not working but works

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by VTRcamper, Apr 13, 2013.

1. G'day guys I'm having an issue with my 2001 vtr 250, I recently started riding in to work and it takes about an hour to get there, during the back half I come across some heavy traffic and if I sit in it too long my bike overheats as the fan won't turn on. But when I get some air through the radiator it cools back down, so I'm assuming the rest of the system is ok.

But here's the bit that has me scratching my head, when testing the fan switch and fan at home (with heat gun and temp sensor) the fan will work.

If anyone has some ideas I'd really appreciate it.
  2. Does it properly overheat or does it just feel hot on your thighs?
    Is it possible that the temp for the thermo fan to work is just quite high? If so you can put a manual switch in for the fan.
  3. The switch could still be cactus and switching at too high a temperature, or there's a break in your wiring/bad connection somewhere, or else the fan motor is gone. Make sure the fan spins with your finger before you go any further. Try shorting the switch in place on the bike with a little piece of wire. If the fan runs then it's the switch being a pest, if not then you'll need to trace the wiring and find the problem.
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  4. Sorry I forgot to say that I know it's over heating because yes I can feel it but mainly the temp light comes on.
    And as for the switch when we put the heat gun to it we also used a laser temp sensor and at the correct temperature it turned the fan on (so it does spin) but for some reason while im riding it the fan just won't come on.
  5. Ok, so just to be clear:
    Switch works at right temperature