Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Fair Price...?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Danny_D, Oct 22, 2013.

1. Hi all. I am a newbie and have been scouring the web to figure out what is the best option for my first bike.
    I am thinking of at least 400cc or bigger....not because I want speed or power straight away but because:-
    1. I don't really want to have to upgrade from a 250cc as soon as I am off my restrictions.
    2. I am 6'1'' and pretty leggy..!
    3. I live in country vic and most of my riding will be on the hwy.
    4. I want a bike that I can modify over time to my own taste and not have outgrown it by the time I get it the way I want it.

Ok so I wanted your thoughts on what would be a reasonable price to pay for the following bikes as I would ideally like something supercheap that I can then invest in over time.

Assume that all these bikes are in good running order but need a bit of TLC..!

Honda CX500
    Honda CL450 Scrambler
    Kawasaki GT550
    Suzuki GS650
    Yamaha SR400
    Yamaha SR500
    Yamaha XS650

2. I assuming you are looking at these, so you can save some money and have a bit of a project.

My opinion of all of those is that they will all be priced well above their true value. Bike parts are very expensive. You will pump so much money into keeping them on the road, you may as well bought a new bike. 15 years ago maybe, but not these days.

of your points above, 2 & 3 are fair enough, but on point 1, you will still want to upgrade and on point 4, you will struggle to see the value when the time comes. This isn't the US, where you can pick up bargains of Craiglist.