Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

F650GS Dakar

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Stubbsy, Apr 18, 2006.

1. G'day

I was wondering how good the factory BMW F650GS Dakar was as an off-road bike?

Does anyone have any ideas or thoughts?

I want a good commuting bike, but want to do a fair bit of off-road riding and touring.

Thanks for your input.
  2. As far as reviews go (i have no personnel experience) it is one of the best multi-purpose bikes out there. It is quite competent on road and can hold it's own off-road (touring/travel not MX style)
  3. I'd say it depends on your definition of "off road" - if you mean gravel roads and the odd bush trail I'd say it would do a beaut job.