Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Eye height vs centre of gravity for LAMS bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by Viker, Mar 17, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,

Another newbie here, scrounging for wisdom.

I've just got my Ls and I'm researching my Ls bike.

I'm 190cm & 90kg, so I need a bit of room on a bike.

I'm looking for something that won't break the bank (or my heart) if I drop it, yet still a decent machine. $3-5K seems to be a sweet spot.

[edited to add] I'll be commuting (largely at 100km/h), riding around Melbourne's inner north (over tram tracks, speed humps & cobblestones) and getting into the hills and curves once I get up my confidence and skill.

Before my Ls course, I had my eye on a Transalp or KLR650. Mostly for the upright seating and the high eye position.

Getting my Ls I rode a CBF250, which I liked for its low centre of gravity and disliked for the chugginess of its single cylinder.

So now I'm trying to compare the Suzuki GS500 (E or F) and Kawasaki ER5 with their lower centre of gravity to the Honda Transalp and Kawasaki KLE500 and KLR650 with their high eye position.

How chuggy is a KLR650 in real life, in traffic, off the line at the lights, on the freeway… rough or just rough around the edges?

How much easier is it to wrestle a GS500 or ER5 back into shape than the taller bikes? How much easier is it to learn confidence on a UJM than on a dual-sport?

I realise these questions are about as subjective as they come, but as a brand-new L-plater I presume its tricky to get a lot of test rides, so I'd really appreciate any experience you can share.

2. Your size and weight. Fat bastard lol