Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Exhaust influence on performance Q

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Marmitemonkey, Jan 21, 2008.

1. Now I know that after market exhausts make a bike sound much cooler and sexy, but I've read a couple of threads in which it is mentioned that changing the exhaust can increase performance.

Can someone explain how this is so please?

Never really had an interest in how these things work until I got the new bike.

Oh yeah, and simple-ish lingo would be cool if poss. I'm still learning to talk the torque. :)

Thanks

2. Less restrictive exhaust = air goes out faster = you can put more air in faster, so you can also add more fuel, and get a bigger bang = more power.

edit: For the SV, the exhaust is about the sound. If the exhaust took away 2hp, I'd still put it on due to sounding so good.

3. In simple terms, the engine must expend a certain amount of horsepower to push the spent exhaust gases out of its cylinders and through the exhaust system and muffler.

If the exhaust system forces the gases to pass through lots of small holes or round sharp, right angled bends or to expand and contract several times, it will take more power to force the gases through than pushing them through a short, smooth straight pipe.

There are also effects whereby pipe dimensions (particularly lengths of sections and volumes of muffler chambers) can be used to create a suction effect at the cylinder at certain engine speeds and assist the engine in expelling the gases. A system designed properly to take advantage of this will generally outperform a short, smooth, straight pipe (which is why the straight throughs on most Harleys are rather pointless).