Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Excited and Disappointed

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Flicka, Mar 14, 2015.

1. Hello,

On Monday I start my 2 day Stay Upright Pre-Learner Training Course. Not really looking forward to it because I've been told if you know how to ride this course is a waste of time.

I started riding bikes around the age of 12. I've never held a bike license. I did bush bashing and raced for approximately a year and a half at Mt Ginn in Canberra about the age of 14.

However I am excited about getting my L plates. I was excited going out to buy my bike but that didn't go the way I wanted it to. I wanted a Honda CBR 500. When I sat on the bike only my tip toes reached the ground. Not a problem as every bike I have owned I have only been able to touch the ground on tip toes. Most of the bikes I had rode in the past were 100cc to 125cc dirt bikes which are light.

The difference this time was while sitting on the bike I leaned it to the side to see if I could hold it up, I could hold it up but I could feel the weight. I realised if I put my foot on loose gravel and I slipped I might not be able to hold the 500 up if it started to go down. I silently cursed myself for being short. If I had been 2 inches taller I could have flat footed and then I know I could have held the bike up if it started to fall on me. Hugh sigh of disappointment.