Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

European A1 license in australia

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Frostyfoe, Oct 17, 2015.

1. Hi netriders!

I'm new on this forum, and in Australia aswell!

I'm an international student from Denmark, staying here for at least 4 years. I'm only 19 but have held a european A1 motorcycle license since i was 18. If you don't know, A1 licenses are restricted to bikes under 125cc (yes it's stupid).

Where i'm from acquiring such a license requires a good deal of effort and expense - and i know that i need an international drivers license to drive in Victoria, but i was wondering if any of you has experience in this field - will the stupid restriction remain at 125cc by doing so? And if it does, will i have to do a learner permit from the start here in Australia to ride other LAMS bikes?

I owned a Yamaha YBR 125 in Denmark, and have done over 10000 km's so i'm not really keen on starting from the bottom again!

Cheers!

2. Welcome!

I'm not sure about the situation in Victoria, but here in Tasmania there is a limit of a few months of how long you may drive/ride before getting a local licence. If staying for four years will probably need to get a Victorian licence - but a Victorian will be able to give you better information!

3. Hey, thanks for replying!