Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Etiquette on the road

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Christinek, Nov 13, 2014.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm still a fresh noob and did my first commute Manly to Pyrmont yesterday inc. over the windy harbour bridge, yay! Made it in one piece and in at least half the time of getting the bus and walking.

So because I'm a good girl and not filtering through traffic, I want to make sure I'm following any 'unspoken' etiquette/rules e.g. letting other riders pass in a bus lane etc.... if anyone can share any tips (no matter how obvious you think it is) that would be great!!! :) Thanks!

2. First rule...always do what is safest for you.
    More experienced riders will look after themselves.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. Never nod to H.D riders if you are not one
    • Like Like x 3
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  4. It is so ridiculous l platers cant filter.

Anyway to answer your question, act predictably. But yeah they will get round you.
  5. #5 Womble, Nov 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 24, 2014
    Or scooters.

Ride your own ride. Head check always and control the traffic around you with definite movements, indication and body language (it comes with time).
    • Like Like x 2
  6. And if that doesn't work, brandishing a screwdriver usually makes them give you more space... :wacky:
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Winner Winner x 1
  7. If you beep a distracted cager at the lights on a multilane road then move right because you don't have time for that shite, they may become angry and speed to get back in front. Not sure if you believe the hi-vis propaganda, if not don't nod riders wearing it.
  8. #8 SteadyEddie, Nov 14, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2014
    I don't nod because I can't see them.