Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

equipment recommendations

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by WeeBubba, May 12, 2010.

1. hi there

im just in the process of buying my first bike. can anyone recommend a place in sydney to get leathers, gloves, boots, bike lock etc. at a reasonable price. also second hand stuff would be even better as im on a tight budget.

how do i know what type of bike lock is best etc.? (sorry im a total noob)

i live in the nrthrn beaches area

2. I'm a fairly new rider too and didn't bother with a bike lock though maybe I'm blessed because while at home/work my bike is always garaged.

Get at least 3rd party insurance on it.
  3. It all depends on what you want to spend. I got all my gear from MCAS at Auburn, who usually have reasonable prices and a "sale" area worth checking out.

My normal advise is never to try and save on your gear as it is the only thing standing between you and the road/environment but I may have a bigger budget than other people.

Lock wise, didn't get one for my first (cheap) bike. Figured the steering lock was enough and I can park secure at home and in the parking garage at work. For my second (good) bike I bought a disk lock which locks into the front brake disk. Nice, bright yellow one with a bright orange cord hooked to my bar. I think it cost me $ 40 at MCAS. It looks unbreakable and has a great scare off effect.

Also try and find a lock that is easy to take with you on the bike. Depending on the type of bike it may or may not have any storage for the lock. Mine only has limited storage.

Good luck!
  4. Not Sydney based so I can't recommend anywhere.